11
Jan
09

Delikatessen Frankowitsch – Graz, Austria

Another place in Graz I want to steer your attention to more closely is Delikatessen Frankowitsch. There are two reasons for it. First, while travelling people have very different habits, what they eat, when they eat etc. I know that when I’m travelling somewhere only for a day, I tend to eat light if I sit in a restaurant¬† for lunch but I usually skip lunch, mostly because I forget about it.¬† So if I don’t sit in a restaurant, I take about half an hour to eat a little something, and I try to search for something local. On the other hand, if I’m travelling for a longer period of time, I enjoy going to restaurants. The second reason is that many people search for local food, to buy a little something to take home.

Delikatessen Frankowitsch

That is why Delikatessen Frankowitsch is a great place to show you. It is very easy to find, just off Herrengasse up Stempfergasse, you can’t miss it.

The place is divided in two parts. When you come in, on your right side you’ll see shelves and shelves of jams, honey, tens of different pates, pickled vegetables and mushrooms, olives, breads and sauces. In front of the shelves is a long refrigerator with probably every cured meet and cutles you can and cannot imagine; different sorts of cheese, salads and fresh pates. On the left is a great choice of wine, champagnes and beer. Oh, and don’t forget chocolate, olive oils and much more…

Delikatessen Frankowitsch inside

As you pass to the second part of Delikatessen Frankowitsch, you enter the buffet/bar where you can order any of their products and enjoy a quick meal, a drink or if you like some of their confection, a pastry or a cake. The place is always full of people, locals and tourists so don’t hesitate to drop by.

So what are your eating habits while travelling? Is this a kind of place you would look for?

Stella – European Travelling Advisor

5 Responses to “Delikatessen Frankowitsch – Graz, Austria”


  1. January 11, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    I must say that I am very impressed with the quality of your blog and the amazing content. It makes me want to go to Europe right now. Who hosts your site? You offere unique insights. Jacques

  2. 2 Stella Stopfer
    January 11, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Thank you so much Jacques, I’m glad you like my blog. Come back any time…
    My blog is hosted by WordPress at the moment.

    Stella – European Travelling Advisor

  3. 3 Hilary
    January 12, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Hi Stella .. once again – a fantastic photo & wonderful enticing descriptions .. makes me hungry – even though it’s way too early even for a snack. Enjoy today .. Hilary

  4. January 13, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Hi Stella

    You asked what is my eating habit while travel? When I enjoy going to places where the locals goes, and try the kind of good the locals eat whenever is possible. That way I can really get a feel of the culture.

    Thank You,
    Giovanna Garcia
    Imperfect Action is better than No Action


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

