13
Jan
09

Train travel enthusiast

railway in ItalyBy now you probably  know I love travelling by train. Very often when someone asks me what is the best way to see the countryside, or how to get to know more of the country except the final destination, I suggest the train. Well, there are always the benefits and the limitations. Looking at the overall picture, when I was reading a blog called cool travel guide where Lara was talking on a series of posts about it, I got myself into thinking why I liked it so much…

There’s always the dreamy, romantic point of view that reminds you of the long hours spent travelling, looking out the window, getting inspired by the amazing scenery. Some might add a book, some might write, but sometimes a cup of coffee or perhaps a glass of wine with a little cheese is just what you need to make your journey special. Maybe I’m taking it too far now, but I just remembered the movie “French kiss” with Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline. It’s an old one, do you remember it? When they travel by train in France to Cannes where he plans to grow his own vineyard?? That does it for me…

Other than that…do you like travelling by train? What is your favorite thing about it, why do you do it? If I compare it to other types of travel…hm, lets see. Travelling by car is tiring and can be stressful if it’s a long trip. It Munich to Churget uncomfortable but you have the freedom that you don’t have when you’re travelling by train. I don’t like buses at all, so that rules them out. :D Travelling by plane is quick and comfortable…well, depends where you are sitting. I like when a plane takes off and lands. Some of you right now are probably thinking “What?? Are you kidding me?!”, but I do. It’s interesting at first, then you easily become bored of the clouds and mountains or if you’re stuck flying for hours and hours over Syberia, I think you get the picture. And finally…cruising. Not the biggest fan though I think it all depends on the size of the ship and where you are cruising. People most of their cruise spend inside, not being aware that they are on the sea. It’ s just one big open space. What I can recommend for sure that you’ll enjoy is Croatian side of the Adriatic sea and Norwegian fjords. Nothing like it…

And here we are, at the beginning again… the ever changing scenery that you can only experience travelling by train wins. It’s the best way to get the know the country a little better, to see and experience more of it all.

Stella – European Travelling Advisor

6 Responses to “Train travel enthusiast”


  1. 1 Hilary
    January 14, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Hi Stella – your comparisons are great .. & really good for sightseeing – some of the best routes are through stunning scenery .. thanks Hilary

  2. January 14, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Hi Stella

    I totally love the “French Kiss” the movie. Thanks for the video flash back :-) I did take a train from Pairs to London and I must say in Europe you guys have very nice train! And when I go back I would love to take more train ride to differect places.

    Thank you,
    Giovanna Garcia
    Imperfect Action is better than No Action

  3. January 14, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Hi Stella,

    Traveling by train sounds so relaxing and romantic. I’d help myself to a glass of wine, a good book and some cheese, too. :-) I’ve never traveled by train but I couldn’t imagine any better way to see the beautiful countryside. Enjoyed the clip of the movie. Meg Ryan is so adorable!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Many Blessings….
    Roxanne and Hugo
    ~ Believe Achieve ~

  4. 4 Stella Stopfer
    January 14, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Thank you Hilary! Definitely, so many pictures, so many memories…almost incomparable.

    Stella – European Travelling Advisor

  5. 5 Stella Stopfer
    January 14, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Hi Giovanna,

    I love love looove that movie, too! I’m glad you responded well to it. That’s true, there really are a lot of great trains. Well, then stay tuned ;) I’m about to show you some very interesting routes…

    Stella – European Travelling Advisor

  6. 6 Stella Stopfer
    January 14, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Hi Roxanne and Hugo,

    I’m so glad everyone responded really well to the movie :) She is, and I watched it so many times… My intention is always to show you something new, to approach it to you the best way I can and bring my experience as alive as possible through my writing.

    Stella – European Travelling Advisor


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

