18
Jan
09

Shops & more book review

Every time I travel to a bigger city,there are some things that I research in advance. Since I’m the kind of traveller that is passionate about architecture, art, design and culture, and I like to take my time to enjoy, you are probably starting to get the picture of how it all looks like. Except from visiting smaller art and photographic galleries, I sometimes know in advance about the shops or even the specific things I want to search for. If you are a so-called design conscious traveller, you know exactly what I’m talking about.

londonParis coverBerlin coverBarcelona cover

Just one of my many resources is a series of books called Shops & more. I’ve already written about Hotels & more in one of my earlier posts. Books, or better yet guides, are published by Taschen and include only four destinations; London, Paris, Berlin and Barcelona. The cities are, same as in the other series, divided in a few areas of which each starts with a hand-illustrated map with shops marked on it. Those shops are then presented with great photos and in the end listed with some information like working hours,  X-factor (like a special feature) and a sentence more about the ambient since most is covered in photos.

Paris mapBarcelona review

Shops & more don’t only include fashion shops but everything including interior design, hats, hand-made cosmetics, tea & coffee, chocolate, gourmet food, bookstores, cookware, hand-made umbrellas, jewelry… there can even be an address for the local market.

There are a few things I always know; like what bookstore I’m going to in London, which designer studio I’m looking up for a bag, where am I going to buy “mini monuments” in Paris etc. And for the places I don’t have guides, I make my own. But when it comes to shopping, most of the things I leave to case because something will always surprise you…

paul-smith-furniture-shop-londonharry-lehmann-berlin

Usually, I’m very critical when it comes to guides in general, even with these “picture books” because I don’t believe all of them are great. But with Shops & more I’m really satisfied as far as the variety of places it includes. They know how to use photos to present and explain everything you need to know. So I would definitely recommend to look them as up and maybe use them as one of your shopping resources.

Stella – European Travelling Advisor

3 Responses to “Shops & more book review”


  1. January 18, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    I am new to your site, Stella. Very well done, beautiful, and good info.
    Thank you.
    Much success and many blessings,
    CG

  2. January 18, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    this looks really neat.

    thanks for sharing!

  3. 3 Stella Stopfer
    January 19, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Hi CG,

    thank you very much, I appreciate it. Come back any time…
    You too.

    Stella – European Travelling Advisor


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

